Gainesville Daily Register

February 18, 2014

Early voting for primary election begins

— Early voting for Cooke County voters starts Feb. 18 for the March 4 primary election and will be held at the Cooke County Annex Building, 112 S. Dixon St. Early voting ends Feb. 28.

Three Republicans have filed for County Judge, to fill the position currently held by County Judge John Roane who has chosen not to run for reelection. The candidates are Byron R. Berry, Jason Brinkley and Aaron Smith.

Two candidates have filed for County Court-at-Law Judge. They are incumbent John H. Morris and Lee Tatum.

Two candidates have filed for County Commissioner Precinct 2. They are incumbent B. C. Lemons and Vince Rippy.

Two candidates have filed for Justice of the Peace, JP Precinct 4, to fill the position currently held by Jason Brinkley. These candidates are Carroll L. Johnson and Neil E. Trice.

Facing no opposition in the Primary are incumbents Leon Klement, County Commissioner Precinct 4; Patty Brennan, County Treasurer; Rebecca Lawson, County Clerk; Dorthy Lewis, Justice of the Peace, JP Precinct 1; and Susan Hughes, District Clerk.

The March 4 joint primary election polling places for Cooke County voters follows.

Precincts 1, 3, 5, and 31 — North Central Texas College, 1525 W. California St., Gainesville.

Precincts 2, 30, 34, and 35  — First Christian Church, 401 N. Dixon St., Gainesville.

Precincts 4, 26, and 37 — Hillcrest Church of Christ, 1712 E. O’Neal St., Gainesville.

Precincts 6 and 9 — Callisburg Community Center, 92 McDaniel St., Callisburg.

Precincts 7, and 28 — Tabernacle Baptist Church, 305 CR 194, Gainesville.

Precinct 8 — Callisburg Elementary School, 648 FM 3164, Woodbine.

Precinct 10 — Mountain Springs Community Center, 173 Mountain Springs Lane, Valley View.

Precinct 11 — Valley View Bapist Church, 504 North Lee St., Valley View.

Precincts 12, and 14 — Era Community Center, 102 Malone St., Era.

Precinct 15 —  Myra Baptist Church, 218 Bradford St., Myra.

Precinct 17 — Muenster VFW, 136 Ash St., Muenster.

Precinct 18 — First Baptist Church, 121 N. Pecan St., Muenster.

Precincts 19, and 21 — Conrad Hall, 431 Ash St., Lindsay.

Precincts 20, 24, 25, and 27 — East Side Church of Nazarene, 1415 S. Radio Hill Road, Gainesville.

Precinct 22 — Lake Kiowa Lodge, 905  W. Kiowa Drive, Lake Kiowa.

Precinct 33 — Moss Lake Fire Station, 160 Spur 1201, Moss Lake.

If you do not know which precinct to vote in call the Cooke County Clerk’s office at 940-668-5421.