Gainesville Daily Register

November 2, 2012

Official clears up polling place questions

By GREG RUSSELL, Register Staff Writer
Gainesville Daily Register

Cooke County — County officials discussed local confusion regarding voting precinct locations on Thursday.

County Clerk Rebecca Lawson explained that the addresses of Callisburg Community Center, Moss Lake Fire Station and Mountain Springs Community Center currently provided online by the county are mailing addresses rather than physical.

Current county information, for example, lists the Moss Lake fire station as having a Gainesville address, rather than Moss Lake, and the Mountain Springs center is listed as having a Valley View address. This is technically correct, according to their mailing addresses, but not according to the physical listings.

Lawson admitted this may lead to problems during Tuesday’s general election — but added that so far, her office has received no calls, and that she was only using the addresses provided to her.

“They were given to us, because we do mail them things after the election,” Lawson said Thursday. “That’s how we establish those addresses. If a voter has a problem, they need to call my office and we’ll explain it to them.”

Lawson also said that in spite of the possible confusion, the current online precinct location list will not be changed.

“It’s been like that from the runoff election in July to the primary,” she said. “I’m just going to leave it like it is.”

The county clerk’s office can be reached at (940) 668-5421.

Updated voting locations

Election day is Tuesday, and participants can vote in their designated precincts between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m. A sample ballot is available at

On Tuesday, voters can visit the following locations for the corresponding precincts:

Precincts 1, 3, 5 and 31 — North Central Texas College Library lyceum, 1525 W. California St. in Gainesville.

Precincts 2, 30, 34 and 35 — First Christian Church, 401 N. Dixon St. in Gainesville.

Precincts 4, 26 and 37 — Hillcrest Church of Christ, 1712 O’Neal St. in Gainesville.

Precincts 6 and 9 — Callisburg Community Center, 92 McDaniel St. in Callisburg.

Precincts 7 and 28 — Tabernacle Baptist Church, 305 County Road 194.

Precinct 8 — Callisburg Elementary School, 648 FM 3164 in Callisburg.

Precinct 10 — Mountain Springs Community Center, 173 Mountain Springs Lane in Mountain Springs.

Precinct 11 — First Baptist Church activities building, 504 N. Lee St. in Valley View.

Precinct 12 and 14 — Era Community Center, 102 Malone St. in Era.

Precinct 15 — Myra Baptist Church, 218 Bradford St. in Myra.

Precinct 17 — Muenster VFW, 136 Ash St. in Muenster.

Precinct 18 — First Baptist Church, 121 N. Pecan St. in Muenster.

Precincts 19 and 21 — Conrad Hall, 504 W. 4th St. in Lindsay.

Precincts 20, 24, 25 and 27 — East Side Church of Nazarene, 1415 S. Radio Hill Road in Gainesville.

Precinct 22 — Lake Kiowa Lodge, 905 W. Kiowa Drive in Lake Kiowa.

Precincts 33 — Moss Lake Fire Station, 160 Spur 1201 in Moss Lake.

For more information about Tuesday’s general election, visit  the website