From left, front row, Cameron Worth, John Michael Fuhrmann, Brandon Craigie, Mia Burrows, Logan King and Zach Hundt; middle:row, Alaina Dennison, Kyle Ott, Kirsten Dennison, Cohen Hunter, Robert Gomulakand Louis Krahl; and back row, Luke Meece, Maggie Krahl, Theresa Wyrick, Matt Riley, Grace Dieter, Jake Hellman and John Walker.

After having to wait to make sure, it’s official, The Lindsay High School Academic UIL team has won the 2A State Championship.

The schedule for this year’s state meet was split with the testing events on April 21 and 22 and the speech events not until May 22 and 23. After the Academic events, Lindsay was just 5.5 points behind the first place school. With the pressure on the speech team, they scored enough points to vault Lindsay into the lead.

“It was scary knowing that everyone was depending on us,” said senior Cohen Hunter. “It was such an awesome feeling when we put the team over the top.”

Lindsay came away with team championships in Number Sense, Calculator and second place team in Mathematics. Lindsay also had several individuals score points, including two state champions — senior Zach Hundt in Informative Speaking and junior Cameron Worth in Number Sense.

“I’ve been to state every year of my high school career, but this was special because it’s the first time our entire team placed in the top three,” said John Michael Fuhrmann, graduating senior who scored points at the state meet in three different events this year.

This marks the 15th time Lindsay has won the State Academic title.

“That really puts everything in perspective,” said Steve Cope, LHS Principal, “15 is amazing, the most ever of any school in any classification.”

After a streak of either placing first or second at state for 25 straight years, Lindsay had dropped in the ranks until their return to the top this year.

“After a short, brief, history of not being around, they have now continued their unprecedented most ever State Academic Championships in the history of the award,” said David Stevens, UIL State Academics Director.

Lindsay last won the title in 2010.

Individual Results:


2nd Brandon Craigie

3rd Cameron Worth

First Place Team with John Michael Fuhrmann and Louis Krahl

Student Congress

2nd Zach Hundt

Headline Writing

4th Logan King


2nd John Michael Fuhrmann

5th Cameron Worth

6th Brandon Craigie

Second Place Team with Luke Meece

Number Sense

1st Cameron Worth

2nd Brandon Craigie

3rd John Michael Fuhrmann

4th Luke Meece

First Place Team

Social Studies

5th Jake Hellman


3rd Kirsten Dennison

Informative Speaking

1st Zach Hundt

6th Cohen Hunter

Recommended for you