Hunting season is just around the corner, which means it’s time to start getting ready with licenses and courses and whatever else hunters might need to be prepared.

Cooke County Game Warden Jim Lundberg said that all hunting licenses expire Aug. 31 and will need to be renewed for this year’s hunting season.

Lundberg said, “this year there are some pretty drastic changes in the laws in the county. I’d encourage anybody who hunts to read the new law booklet.”

Lundberg is conducting a hunter safety course on Saturday, Aug. 22 and Sunday, Aug. 23 from noon until 5 p.m. The course will take place at the Farm Bureau Building.

Lundberg said the course primarily teaches firearm handling and safety, hunting ethics, wildlife management issues, first aid and hunting laws.

“There is no target practice,” said Lundberg of the course. “It involves classroom lectures and video learning.”

The cost for the safety course is $15 per person and attendance is required on both days in order to receive credit.

Lundberg said that the changes in the hunting laws will be covered in the course.

Lundberg said that every hunter born on or after Sept. 2, 1971 must successfully complete the hunter safety course to legally hunt in Texas. He said there are some exceptions to the law.

According to the Texas Parks and Wildlife website, some of those exceptions are that if you were born on or after Sept. 2, 1971 and you are:

• Under nine years of age, you must be accompanied.

• Age nine through 16, you must successfully complete a hunter education course or be accompanied.

• Age 17 or over, you must successfully complete a hunter education course; or purchase a “Hunter Education Deferral” and be accompanied.

The website says, “accompanied” means, “By a person (resident or non-resident) who is at least 17, who is licensed to hunt in Texas, who has passed hunter education or is exempt (born before Sept. 2, 1971), and you must be within normal voice control. Proof of certification or deferral is required to be on your person while hunting.”

The Hunter Education Deferral “allows a person 17 years of age or older who has not completed a hunter education program to defer completion for up to one year. A deferral may only be obtained once and is only valid until the end of the current license year. A person who has been convicted or has received deferred adjudication for violation of the mandatory hunter education requirement is prohibited from applying for a deferral. Take the course by Aug. 31 of the current license year and receive a $5 discount.” The cost for Hunter Education Deferral is $10.

For more information about hunting regulations go to the Texas Parks and Wildlife website at www.tpwd.state.tx.us.

The Farm Bureau Building is located on Highway 82, west of I-35.

For more information about the Hunter Safety course call Lundberg at 940-736-0187.



Recommended for you