Staff report

The following is information obtained from various voting entities in and around Cooke County.

City councils


No one filed for mayor of the city.

Each of the three council positions have been filed for. Candidates include Brent Eugster, Sharon McDermott and Bob Henderson.


In Ward 3, incumbent Tony Manning will face Charles Draper.

In Ward 5, Woody Williams is the only candidate.

In Ward 6, James B. King, the incumbent, will face challenger Vince Rippy.

Municipal Judge Chris Cypert, who filed for re-election, is unopposed.


Glenn (Tic) Block and Robin Rose are running for the two positions on the City Council and Steven Zwinggi is running unopposed for mayor.


Alll three incumbents, Gary Fisher, Johnny Pagel and Jewel Otto, are unopposed.

Oak Ridge

Deborah Davis, incumbent, has filed for one of two commissioners positions open. One mayor position is open. No further information was available by press time.

Saint Jo

Doyle Cooke, incumbent, Sonny Weed, John Sickles, and Tom Weger have filed for open positions on the Board of Aldermen.

Wendall Thompson, currently mayor pro-tem, has filed for mayor.

Valley View

Incumbents Suzanne Wilkinson and Tom Tilton and newcomer Lance Kirkpatrick have filed for three two-year terms on the Board of Aldermen and Glenn Lance has filed for a one-year unexpired term.


Three at-large positions are open. Candidates include Mark Pike, Charles Whitecotton, Harold Butts and Tammy Haning.

Hospital boards

Muenster Memorial Hospital

Incumbents Kenny Klement, Dr. Walter Knight and Ronald Weinzapfel have filed for three open seats.

North Texas Medical Center

Five at-large positions are open on the hospital’s board of directors. Incumbents Diana Eichenberger, Khawaja Anwar, Jerry Parr and Jay Freeman have filed. Dr. Bill Wellman decided not to run. Challengers Janice Call, Bob Day, Jim Hughes and Ricky Purcell have also filed.

Community college board

North Central Texas College

In place 1, Linda Coursey, Ken King and Ken Leach have filed

In place 2, Dr. Robert McLeroy and Ken Coolen have filed.

School boards

Callisburg ISD

Board Chairman Steven Potz-Nielsen, Larry Nini and Melissa Stubblefield have filed for three open positions.


In place 6, Joe Yarbrough, incumbent, is opposed by Johnny Moore.

In place 7, Jared Groce is opposed by Kathy Grassman. Harold Brown is not seeking re-election to place 7.

Gainesville ISD

Lisa Bellows filed for re-election to place 4.

Phil Adams filed for place 5 to replace Larry Claxton, who is not seeking re-election.

Lindsay ISD

Incumbents Lloyd Reiter and Bruce Bezner are unopposed.

Muenster ISD

In place 5, incumbent Jim Endres is unopposed. In place 6, Ronnie Felderhoff, incumbent, faces challenger Mel Walterscheid. In place 7, Neil Huschton, incumbent, is opposed by Steve Trubenbach.

Saint Jo ISD

No information available by press time.

Sivells Bend ISD

Philip Marsh and Ed Johnson, both incumbents, have filed for open positions.

Valley View ISD

Incumbent Janet Bayer and Josh Brinkley have filed for the two open positions.

Walnut Bend ISD

Randy Clark, Paul Bezner and Orville Anderle have filed for the three open positions.

Whitesboro ISD

David Bertino, incumbent, has filed, in addition to Corey Fletcher and Mike Dickson for three open positions.

To report any errors, changes or candidate withdrawls, contact the Register at 665-5511 ext. 20.