The GHS Alumni Association will pay special tribute to the eight 2008 GHS Alumni and Education Hall of Fame inductees at a luncheon during Homecoming activities on Friday, Sept. 26 at the new high school.

The lunch won’t start until 1 p.m. due to the student schedule. Tickets are $12 and are available by calling 665-4362. The four alumni honorees are:

• Dr. Clinton McPherson, Class of 1936, a pioneer in the Texas wine industry.

• Dave Tanner, Class of 1967, noted Dallas musician and band leader.

• Wally Cullum, Class of 1955, retired airline pilot and leader in many local activities.

• Sue Cartwright, Class of 1973, nationally recognized educator from Colorado Springs, Colorado.

The four educator honorees are:

• Horace McCain, long-time coach and shop teacher.

• Bert Gibbs, long-time coach and school principal.

• Patsy Wilson, long-time English teacher and GHS librarian.

• Jo Kennedy, beloved fourth and sixth grade teacher at McMurray School.

Coach Gibbs and Mrs. Kennedy are deceased.

These eight honorees bring the total number of inductees into the Hall of Fame to 21 alumni and 17 educators. The Alumni Hall of Fame was initiated in 2004 and the Educator Hall of Fame a year later.

Recommended for you