Spring semester induction ceremonies Sunday for the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society at North Central Texas College paid tribute to students for outstanding academic performance and exemplary citizenship.

The students are the newest members of NCTC’s award-winning Psi Iota chapter of PTK, the national honor society for community college students.

“Except for graduating with honors, this is the highest form of recognition a student at our college can receive for excellence in the classroom,” said Donna Hooper, PTK faculty co-sponsor.

Established in 1918, PTK is recognized by the American Association of Community Colleges as the official honor society for community colleges. It is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1.3 million members and 1,100 chapters located in all 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada, Germany and Japan.

Membership in PTK, said Ms. Hooper, is by invitation only, extended to students who have completed at least 12 hours of coursework leading to an associate degree (although some part-time students may be eligible) and who must generally have a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

According to Kathy Bauer, another faculty co-sponsor, PTK serves to recognize and encourage the academic achievement of two-year college students and provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming.

“We are very proud of these special students,” Ms. Bauer said. “PTK membership is viewed as an exceptional honor at our college, and PTK members are always among our most effective campus leaders. Once they’ve completed their education, we expect them to become outstanding community leaders as well.”

Inductees included Catherine Hodde-Pierce, Jennifer Adee, Deidra Allen, Amy Aveline, Danny Bringham, Cheryl Capuchina, Angela Clark, H. Elaine Caudle, Kelly Cooper, Jeffrey Danilowicz, Rachel Davis, Nita Embrey, August Fleitman, Lara Greco, Cami Gregory, Carrie Grewing, Cheryl Hamilton, Mark Hammond, Mark Henry, Peter Janssen, Rebekah Kopsky, Jonathan Lavezo, Michelle Lawyer, Kathryn Meeks, Dan Mitchell, Johana Molina, Jennifer Morris, Anna Oakley, Emery Payad, Cheanay Pritchett, Annette Rice, Renee Robbins, Amanda Roberts, Mark Schmidt, Brian Sears, Raegena Seitz, Mallory Shepherd, Jessica Showalter, Melissa Wallace, David Weber, Kelly Wilkins, Francie Wilson, Mickey Wolf, Tiffany Yale, and Tamara Zargarnian

Recommended for you