The Cooke County United U15 Girls Soccer team traveled to Irving Saturday afternoon to take on the Irving Lady Pumas despite Hurricane Ike. The 2007- 2008 Championship team was able to kick off its season with a win as they handily defeated the Lady Pumas 8-0.

The first goal came quickly as Meagan Caillier took a pass from Megan Holt and put it through the net in the opening moments. Opportunity struck moments later as forward Lexi Barton found Caillier open again and Caillier put it in the back of the net, making it 2-0. Emily Hellman would drive down unassisted shortly afterwards and score the third goal of the first half.

The Pumas would rise to the challenge and take the ball down field, but a strong defense and a save by goalie, Makaylie Ward, would prove to be their only opportunity of the afternoon to take a shot on goal.

CC United wasn't finished for the half and strong ball skills enabled Hellman to pick her way through the Irving defense and past the Puma goalie for her second goal and end the half with CC United leading 4-0.

A change of goalies as Alondra Perez took the goalie shirt from Ward would start the second half. The Pumas put up a stronger defense but were unable to stop a determined Barton who went one on one with the Puma goalie to score her second goal and bring the score to 5-0.

A change in the lineup by CC United had offense and defense swapping places, placing Morgan Forshe e in position for a shot on goal. Forshee was fouled in the box and awarded a penalty kick which she quickly put in, giving CC United a 6-0 lead.

Ward would use fancy footwork to get into a position that allowed her to place a perfect pass to Devon Henry who would score CC's 7th goal and Holt would take another perfectly placed cross from Ward shortly afterwards to score the final goal to end the game with a score of 8-0.

Coaching the Cooke County Soccer Association team is Will Henry. Members of the team are Lexi Barton, Keilah Blakey, Meagan Caillier, Marisol Chavez, Danielle Davis, Emily Hellman, Devan Henry, Kaitlin Hesse, Megan Holt, Alexandra Perez, Alondra Perez, Sheridan Shewbirt, Morgan Forshee, Makaylie Ward, and Claire Williams. These girls represent Muenster ISD, Sacred Heart Catholic School, Lindsay ISD, Gainesville ISD, Valley View ISD, Callisburg ISD, and Whitesboro ISD and Cooke County.

Recommended for you